A Fresh Start

On Monday, Glenn came home smiling.  He had been invited to meeting for engineers who had been part of the design for the NEW I-pads.  Much to his delight, many of them received their OWN new I-pads, fresh from the production site!  Of course, he was delighted, despite the fact that he had just ordered himself one a few months earlier.  You have heard of that “New Car Smell”, right?  Apparently there IS a New I-Pad smell, detectable only by those that ‘know’ them.

Normally, I’m next in line for these goodies.  With the i-Phones, I was used to getting his ‘old’ one, the last years model without all the cool flashy things on it.  Oh well, let him luxuriate in his passionate love of all things Apple, it’s just a phone, after all.

But for some  reason, after years of acquiescence, I got balky this year.  When HE ordered his own new phone, he had to order ME a new one too!

SO now we have a new Ipad in the house.  No, it’s his, especially since the VP of his group handed it to him HIMSELF.  Logically then, I assumed that I’d inherit his two month old one.  No, not so fast.

He encouraged me to try out the keyboard and all the functions on this brand-spanking new one!  There were a few slight changes from his, as it was last year’s model.  Best I try this one out, since……well your Mac Book Air IS six years old…….AND you’ve dropped it several times…..

“So try out this one, and you know how your Mac feels, and you can choose.  I can order whichever one you’d like.  ”

Pardon me while I pick my jaw up off the floor.  I am SO used to being careful and sensible in my spending, I’m not sure I recognize this guy.

Lately, I’ve been commenting on things that need replacing in our new home.  It is depressing how much you don’t take note of when you are viewing a potential home to purchase.  Things like there were actually only 3 cupboards that had these lovely little handles that matched the countertop perfectly.  The rest?  None whatsoever!  The kitchen that looked so light and bright actually has a white linoleum floor.  Even though I walked on it several times, I never ‘saw’ it.

Even though we’ve just been here a month, it quickly became obvious that the dishwasher is not the latest technology.  It takes TWO hours to cycle, and even then the dishes are not super clean.  It is also frighteningly small, and barely holds all our dishes from the day!

When I comment on these issues that I would like to address, I get sarcastically asked how I’m going to pay for these things.  Though there likely isn’t enough, there IS some leftover laminate from doing the rest of the house in the garage.  I would think that measuring the kitchen and laundry room for how much we would need would be a sensible first step.

“Yeah, go ahead.”

Meanwhile I’m enjoying getting to know my new little buddy.  He is MUCH lighter that my laptop, and isn’t crabbing at me about the battery.  Despite sitting here for over an hour, typing away, things are looking very very good!

 

 

3 thoughts on “A Fresh Start

  1. Lucky gal! Congrats to you on your new acquisition.I am (as you will remember from a previous e-mail from me) in the market for a new computer. Glenn offered his 10% discount to me for a MBA, but when I checked the duty and HST I would have to pay, it would be close to $300!So, currently I am thinking I might as well get one in good ‘ol Canada. Suzanne still has a box office in Ogdensburg, NY but I still have to cross the border to come back home so the same duty and HST would still be owed.Have fun with your new toy!!Gail

    From: illogicaloutcome To: goswald@rogers.com Sent: Friday, September 16, 2016 6:17 PM Subject: [New post] A Fresh Start #yiv8696341209 a:hover {color:red;}#yiv8696341209 a {text-decoration:none;color:#0088cc;}#yiv8696341209 a.yiv8696341209primaryactionlink:link, #yiv8696341209 a.yiv8696341209primaryactionlink:visited {background-color:#2585B2;color:#fff;}#yiv8696341209 a.yiv8696341209primaryactionlink:hover, #yiv8696341209 a.yiv8696341209primaryactionlink:active {background-color:#11729E;color:#fff;}#yiv8696341209 WordPress.com | swmbo4 posted: “On Monday, Glenn came home smiling.  He had been invited to meeting for engineers who had been part of the design for the NEW I-pads.  Much to his delight, many of them received their OWN new I-pads, fresh from the production site!  Of course, he was deli” | |

    Like

  2. I know you will love your new IPAD!!! I love love love mine! It comes every where and I have promised it that I will NEVER drop it!!! I even wrap it in a cloth! heheheheheh!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

