Learning to communicate

As of this morning, I am a student once again!  I have signed up for a course in introductory Spanish, something that I have wanted to do since we moved down here.  Even though there are fewer Spanish speaking seniors at the gym than Korean, Chinese, Phillipino and Japanese, I decided that this was the language that I felt that this was my best choice.  Having the smattering of French language courses from school, another romance language was the next logical step.  I don’t know if I will ever attempt one of the Oriental languages or not.  Those are much more intimidating to me, especially given that they use symbols instead of letters!

I sent a note, copy gym managers Susan, Jessica and my shift partner Manny, requesting a change in my Friday morning shift at the gym.  Currently I’m there from 10am to noon, but that is the hours of my Spanish class.  I suggested that the two ladies that have the Friday shift after mine/ours might consider swapping with Manny and I.  I hope that this is more than wishful thinking, as I don’t want to leave the gym in the lurch!

Even though this is just an interest course, I am somewhat nervous of putting myself in the classroom setting again.  My history in education has played out well in the learning  and assignments.  The problem only comes out in exams, especially multiple choice!  It is apparently a known issue for MS’ers, that multiple choice does NOT work for them!  I’m told that it is difficulty we have in convincing ourselves that one choice is any more correct than another.  I like to think of it as a function of the ability to weigh all options, and see good points in all of them.  Hey, poTAYto poTAHto, a rose by an other name!

I doubt that there will be an exam at the end of this course.  At least I hope not!  There are ten sessions in this beginning course.  They do mention a text book, which I’m supposed to buy.  I can only hope that it isn’t priced like the texts were when I was in university!  The course itself was $100, which I felt was quite reasonable.  The school isn’t far from here, just a few blocks in fact!  My first hint, if it wasn’t for the fact that I’m getting very acclimatized to driving around here, was that they have the same zip code as we do!

2 thoughts on “Learning to communicate

  1. I’VE been wanting to learn Spanish for quite a while now, so when this opportunity landed on my lap, I jumped on it. I certainly have lots of folks to practice on in this part of the world. My main partner in my work at the gym had Spanish as his first language, so I can pick his brain whenever necessary!

    Like

Leave a Reply

