The Apple never falls far from the tree!

Remember that I mentioned that one door closing means that another one opens?  Thinking of ‘me’  as part of a couple, instead of ‘me’ singular,  will make it easier to follow this train of thought.  Perhaps a bit of history would help…

Some of the engineers that Glenn worked with while at Nuvation left shortly after he did, but they were headed for California!  Somehow someone from Apple got wind of the general dissatisfaction at the firm, and recruited a number of these engineers to work for them in Cupertino, California.  It seems these fellows are quite delighted with their new jobs, and ‘happened’ to mention to their management that they knew of a guy who lived and breathed all things Apple, and was a top notch engineering manager to boot!  Put it all together and what do you get?

An email arrived in his inbox, asking him to send a resumé.  Sure, why not?  A couple of days later, a phone interview is scheduled, for this Friday evening.  They sent him a job description:  Accessories Firmware Manager.   It describes him to a ‘T’, supports his belief that a ‘manager’ and a ‘leader’ are not necessarily the same thing, and even manages to sound like it would be just great fun!  At least it does, to a die-hard geek.

As for me, I am not thrilled at the prospect of moving to the US, and losing my Canadian medical benefits, to say nothing of losing my ability to get closer to friends and family!  In fact, in a desperate attempt to provide a tinge of common sense to the equation, I made him send a resumé to Cisco in Ottawa, in application for the job opening they just posted.  I realize that this possibility with Apple is the answer to his dreams, and I really can’t quash this faint hope he has.  In reality, I suspect that the hope isn’t faint at all, and that there is a very real possibility that they will offer him a job.  Ugh, my stomach just clenched!  I’m SCARED!

Leave a Reply

